My experience in the 70th Annual Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry (Durban, South Africa)

26.08.2019

This year, the Annual Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry was very special because it was the first time to be celebrated in South Africa. In addition, the conference was a unique experience for me because of several reasons. First, I was awarded the Early Career Analytical Electrochemistry Prize and I received my diploma at the Opening Ceremony. Then, I was invited to give a keynote lecture. And finally, I was able to discover small parts of South Africa and its amazing culture.

I arrived in Durban after a long trip of almost 24 h via Dubai. I was extremely tired but decided to explore around after a short nap. The beach was a short walk away from the headquarter hotel and the venue (Durban ICC). And...wow!!! The magnificent Indian Ocean really impressed me. It was plenty of people surfing high waves. A peaceful beach to relax just listening to the sea and the peculiar birds. A lot of places around to enjoy local food, rent bikes and quadricycles. Stanning sand statues. Environmental music...South Beach and Marine Parade really surprised me. I was also delighted by the white wine, corn bread and the good quality of the fish and meat served in that area and at 'Big Easy' (Hilton Hotel) as well.

I had some time for excursions and decided to go to Hluhluwe and the Zulu reserves. In Hluhluwe, I experienced a Safari in which I was able to see buffalos, rhinos, elephants, monkeys and wild pigs, among others. Also, crocodiles, hypos and fish birds during a spectacular boat trip. Then, wonderful views from the Valley of the 1000 thousand hills, with the spectacle of Zulu dances, songs and rituals. Knowing their life style, courtship, housing and utensils, defence tactics and weapons, food and drinks. I saw zebras, giraffes, antelopes, ducks, reptiles and snakes, Nile crocodiles, and turtles...what an amazing experience!!

My highlights of the conference were the following:

All the oral presentations were amazing, but those related with my field were really inspiring for me. In this sense, I would like to mention those by Gaston Crespo, Alain Walcarius, Daniel Mandler, Debbie Silvester, Damian Arrigan, Justin Gooding, Patrick Unwin, Wolfgang Schuhmann, Christian Brett and Kariyakin's group because of this proximity.

I am not able to find appropriate words to describe the plenary lecture by Sir Fraser Stoddart. What a lesson of science and life success!

It is amazing to see how other young scientists are growing towards an independent career in different spots of the world. We may speak about science 24 h...no matter if this is accompanied by a beer or a good wine. Science is our passion!

What a unique experience to give a keynote! But what I really appreciate the most is the 10 min that I had for discussion. This was really constructive and opened follow-up conversations that were very inspiring for my research line.

The opportunity to approach to companies and journal editors.

But, my attendance to this unique conference would not have been possible without the following support:


Enjoy science and its disclosure!

Maria

© 2019 Maria Cuartero. All rights reserved.
Creado con Webnode
¡Crea tu página web gratis! Esta página web fue creada con Webnode. Crea tu propia web gratis hoy mismo! Comenzar